

Second Software Documentation Generation Challenge (DocGen2)

hosted by ICSME 2020

For the second time, ICSME is going to host the Software Documentation Generation Challenge. This time, *DocGen* is organized in three different tracks. One will be a competition, with prize winners selected according to a suite of objective metrics (*DeClutter*); one will be a tool demo similar to the challenge in 2018 (*ClassDoc*); and finally, we invite open tool demos on any documentation-related topic (*Open Exhibition*).

Decluttering Challenge (*Declutter*): The goal of this year's challenge is to build an automated tool that can identify unnecessary software documentation at the class or file level. For example, a comment saying //loop from 1 to N just before code implementing exactly that is not helpful, and worse, could drift when the underlying code is changed, for example, to N-1. Both development and test data will be extracted from the *JabRef* project. However, participants might use additional labelled data from other sources in order to develop and implement their systems.

Tool Demo (ClassDoc): The tool demo is the successor of the 2018 competition. The goal is to build an automated system that can create on-demand developer documentation for a Java class. The documentation should help developers in answering specific questions about the class such as What does the class do? or Why is the class implemented in this way? An entry to the tool demo is a program that takes as input the fully qualified name of a class from the JabRef project and generates the developer documentation in HTML format.

Open Exhibition: We invite submissions in the area of automated documentation that do not fall into the preceding categories. Is there an aspect to documentation generation we are missing? Do you have a cool dataset that the community should consider?

For more information, please visit:

https://dysdoc.github.io/

Important Dates:

Submission deadline for all tracks: 10th July 2020

Notifications for all tracks: 24th July 2020

Camera-ready versions due (tentative): 7th August 2020

Organizing Committee: Sebastian Baltes and Hideaki Hata (*General and Tool Demo Chairs*), Nicole Novielli and Neil Ernst (*Challenge Chairs*), Raula G. Kula and Michael W. Godfrey (*Exhibition Chairs*), Oscar Chaparro and David Shepherd (*Publicity Chairs*), Martin Robillard and Takashi Kobayashi (*Steering Committee Chairs*)